Skip to content
Home » Asia Cup 2022 Fixtures Announced by ACC

Asia Cup 2022 Fixtures Announced by ACC

The Asian Cricket Council has announced the dates for the Asia Cup 2022. Sri Lanka will host this tournament. The first match of the tournament will be held on August 27. At the same time, the final will be played on September 11. The dates of the tournament were informed through a tweet by the Asian Cricket Council. This tournament will be played in T20 format. The tournament will also see a great match between India and Pakistan. Team India is the most successful team in Asia Cup history.

So far this tournament has been organized 14 times. This tournament was organized for the first time in 1984. The Indian team has been champions in 1984, 1988, 1990-91, 1995, 2010, 2016 and 2018. At the same time, Sri Lanka won the title in 1986, 1997, 2004, 2008 and 2014. Pakistan has won this tournament in 2000 and 2012. In this six-team tournament, five teams from Asia have got direct entry. These teams are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan, while the sixth team is decided in the qualifier matches.

Jay Shah will continue as the President of ACC

It has also been decided in the meeting of the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) that till the year 2024, Jay Shah will remain the ACC President. It has been said by tweeting on behalf of the ACC that all the members of the ACC have unanimously decided that the tenure of Jay Shah as ACC President should be extended till 2024.

Pakistan will now host the 2023 Asia Cup

Asia Cup 2022

The Asia Cup was to be held in Pakistan in 2020, but was then postponed for a year due to the Corona epidemic. After that it could not be organized even in 2021 and then in 2022 it was agreed to organize the tournament in Sri Lanka in T20 format. 

The Asia Cup will be organized next year also. It will be hosted by Pakistan. Looking at the 2023 World Cup, the 2023 Asia Cup will be in the ODI format.

Read more of our articles on Cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *