Skip to content
Home » Jay Shah Hints of Conducting Women’s IPL next year with 6 teams

Jay Shah Hints of Conducting Women’s IPL next year with 6 teams

The BCCI is likely to issue a tender for the Women Indian Premier League by the end of 2022. According to BCCI secretary Jay Shah, numerous businesses have expressed interest in purchasing the rights to the WIPL (Women’s Indian Premier League) from the board.

BCCI expects to auction WIPL Rights; 6 teams likely to participate 

Embed from Getty Images

By early next year, the BCCI hopes to auction match broadcast rights for the women’s only cricket league and its six league teams. Existing IPL clubs are expected to bid for women’s IPL teams, according to Jay Shah. Rajasthan Royals, Punjab Kings, and Mumbai Indians are among the clubs interested in purchasing WIPL franchises. Nita Ambani has previously shown her support for women’s cricket. Jio had purchased the title sponsorship rights for the BCCI’s Women’s T20 Challenge.

Men’s IPL to take place separately ; No effect on WIPL broadcasting Rights 

The BCCI is creating a framework for the six-team women’s IPL, which will begin next year. It will, however, take place in a different window than Men’s IPL 2023. The BCCI has issued a tender for IPL media rights. The deadline for receiving tender documents was May 10th for Men’s IPL.

Women Cricket League in various Countries 

In Australia and England, professional women’s cricket leagues already exist. In Australia, the Women’s Big Bash League is being organised, while in England, The Hundred is being organised. Pakistan and Bangladesh are also discussing the possibility of forming a women’s league.

Women T20 Challengers League 

There was no competition known as the Women’s IPL till now, but the tournament was known as the Women’s T20 Challengers. It began in the year 2018. Initially, two teams competed and just one match was played. That match was won by Supernovas.

Three teams have been participating since 2019. In 2019, four matches were played, including the final. Supernovas won the championship by defeating Velocity. In the year 2020, the Trailblazers were crowned champions. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *